Two dogs and wishes

Today I am writing from a place of anger.  I am angry because two dogs were stolen from our local Humane Society.  The thieves cut into a chain-link fence (brand new, I add) to get inside.  The dogs they stole are a pit bull and a Staffordshire terrier.  

I’m willing to make an ass out of you and me by saying I think I know why they were stolen.

This infuriates me.

The local Humane Society receives no money from the Humane Society of the United States.  It runs entirely on donations.  They have a very small staff (a maximum of six, I think) so they depend on volunteers by the dozens to help out.  

So not only will they worry about the treatment and whereabouts of these two helpless animals, they will have to spend even more money to repair a fence that was just replaced six months ago.  

I hope the dogs are returned unharmed.  Wish in one hand and spit in the other, as my Mom would say.

If they were stolen to become fighters, may salt be spread on the lives of the thieves so nothing good will grow.  

 

Leave a Reply

