What I Did Today…

I said “Oh, shit!” when I saw the question “are you disabled, such as having depression” when applying for a job on-line.

Didn’t expect that to happen.  

Thoughts ran through my my head.  What if I answer yes?  Will they hire me?  What if I get the job and then they change their minds?  What if I get the job and depression hits me hard again?  

Crap!  How am I going to handle this?

One day at a time, I guess.  Statistics claim that one in five people in the United States has depression.  While at the grocery store last week I counted “one, two, three, four, he’s got it.”  Out of twenty five people waiting in line (including kids) five of us had depression.  

Because I’m not alone, I shouldn’t be disqualified from having a job.  

I guess I can stop being afraid now.  

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

